Frame question for non-inlined method calls

Oct 21, 2010 at 10:26 PM

Hi,

I'm new to Spec# and I'm confused about a case involving an array field

and a call to method which is not inlined.

In m1 method below this.fa is an array and precondition is this.fa[0] == 42.

m1 takes one int[] a as argument. it calls another method aSet which sets a[0] to 5.

the method is not inlined so its post condition/modifies clause would be used for

vc purposes. aSet has a frame condition of "modifies a[0]".

Why is it that after this method call, the assertion this.fa[0] == 42 fails?

In other words, how should I express the fact that fields of "this" after a call to the

static method aSet() are not changed, without explicitly making that a post condition of

aSet()? Even if I make aSet() non-static and include "modifies this.0" the same happens.

The instance is below.

Thanks!

Hesam

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FrameTest.ssc(15,2): Error: Assertion might not hold: this.fa[0] == 42

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

using Microsoft.Contracts;

class FrameTest {

int[] fa;

void m1(int[]! a)
     modifies a[0], this.0;
         requires this.fa != a;
         requires a.Length > 0;
         requires this.fa.Length > 0;
         requires this.fa[0] == 42;
    {
    aSet(a);
    assert this.fa[0] == 42;
    }

static void aSet(int[]! a)
        requires a.Length > 0;
        modifies a[0];
        ensures a[0] == 5;
    {
    a[0] = 5;
    }

[Verify(false)]
    public static void Main(string[] args) { }

}

Developer
Oct 26, 2010 at 2:54 PM

Hi Hesam,