Comprehension in the loop invariant

Aug 30, 2012 at 9:45 AM

Hello,

I am studying spec# tool and got the following problem. Code below seems fine but the prover cannot see the loop invariant holds. It claims initially and after loop iteration the invariant fails.

Do I miss something?

public class Test {

void test(int[] t) 
		requires t != null;
	{
	    int i = 0;	    
	    while(i<t.Length)
	    	invariant count {int k in (0: i); t[k] > 0} <= count {int k in (0: t.Length); t[k] > 0}; 
	    {
	    	i++;		
	    }
	}
}

Thank you,

Boriss

Coordinator
Aug 30, 2012 at 7:09 PM

Evidently, the Spec# verifier does not have the "obvious" information that a "count" comprehension always returns a non-negative value.  That's a pity.  If you give it that information (in the form of an assumption before the loop and at the end of the loop, in both cases for the range (i: a.Length)), then the Spec# verifier proves the program.

public class Test {
  void test(int[] t) 
    requires t != null;
  {
    int i = 0;
    assume 0 <= count {int k in (i: t.Length); t[k] > 0};
    while(i<t.Length)
      invariant count {int k in (0: i); t[k] > 0} <= count {int k in (0: t.Length); t[k] > 0}; 
    {
      i++;		
    }
  }
}

Rustan

Sep 12, 2012 at 10:19 AM
Edited Sep 12, 2012 at 10:19 AM

Thank you for the reply!

I am proceeding with this but got a different problem. Now verifier proves the first assertion inside the loop body, but fails to prove the second one. 

public class Test {

void test2(int[] t) 
		requires t != null;
	{
	    int i = 0;
	    while(i<t.Length)
	    {
	    	assert i + 1 <= t.Length;	    	
	    	assert count {int k in (0: i+1); t[k] > 0} <= count {int k in (0: t.Length); t[k] > 0};
	    	i++;
	    }
	}

}

Boriss

Coordinator
Sep 12, 2012 at 7:26 PM

The property that Spec# unfortunately does not know is that count always returns a non-negative value.  So the property you need to assume is:

assume 0 <= count { int k in (i+1: t.Length); t[k] > 0 };