Spec# vs Dafny

Oct 12, 2014 at 11:31 PM
Hello,

I am a beginner in using verification tools. I came across Dafny recently and considered trying it out to develop some verified codebase. I started using it and found that Dafny has limited pre-defined datatypes (I believe there are no strings etc). Then I stumbled upon Spec# which also internally uses the Boogie+Z3 SMT solver stack to verify Spec# programs. I started using Spec# with VS2010. It seems to be giving the same set of verification features like Dafny and also it has all pre-defined types (I believe Spec# is a superset of C#).

Question: Is there any reason why someone would prefer Dafny over Spec# ? Does Spec# have lesser or less rigorous verification guarantees?

Also, is there anyway to get the integrated BVD experience with Spec# like in Dafny?

-Ram
Coordinator
Nov 12, 2014 at 10:28 PM
Hello Ram,

Spec# is an old language and tool. The main research project ended about 6 years ago (if you're interested in reading our "retrospective" of the project, please see our article in the June 2011 issue of CACM). Spec# is still being used in teaching, but we're finding various problems in trying to maintain it. The reason for this is that Spec# is a superset of C# version 2.0, and .NET has since moved on to version 4.5, so it's difficult to build Spec# these days. We have also had some problems recently with getting Spec# to run on rise4fun.com, but I'm hoping that we have now found a suitable workaround for that problem.